Bar Council

Bar Council Constitution

The Bar Council Constitution is available for download.

Bar Council Standing Orders

The Standing Orders for Committees of the Bar Council and the Standing Orders for Joint Committees are issued under the Authority of Regulations 12 and 13 of the Bar Council Constitution.

Bar Council members 2017

Bar Council 2017


Mr Andrew Langdon QC


Mr Andrew Walker QC


Ms Lorinda Long

Ex Officio Members

Rt. Hon Jeremy Wright QC MP – Attorney General

Mr Robert Buckland QC MP – Solicitor General

Ms Alison Saunders – Director of Public Prosecutions

Mr Michael Hayton QC – Leader, Northern Circuit

Mr Nigel Sangster QC – Leader, North Eastern Circuit

Mr William Mousley QC – Leader, Western Circuit

Mr Richard Atkins QC – Leader, Midland Circuit

Mr Kerim Fuad QC – Leader, South Eastern Circuit

Mr Paul Hopkins QC – Leader, Wales and Chester Circuit

Ms Angela Rafferty QC – Chair, Criminal Bar Association

Mr Philip Marshall QC – Chairman, Family Law Bar Association

Ms Amanda Tipples QC – Chairman, Chancery Bar Association

Ms Brie Stevens-Hoare QC – Chair, London Common Law & Commercial Bar Association

Mr Simon Broomfield – Chairman, Bar Association for Commerce, Finance & Industry

Mr Andrew Spink QC – Chair, Commercial Bar Association 

Inns Representatives 

Ms Amanda Pinto QC – Middle Temple

Mr Gerard McDermott QC – Middle Temple

Mr Joe Smouha QC – Middle Temple

Mr Guy Fetherstonhaugh QC – Inner Temple

Mr Gordon Nardell QC – Inner Temple

Mr Robert Rhodes QC – Inner Temple

Mr William Boyce QC – Gray’s Inn

Mr Manjit Gill QC– Gray’s Inn

Ms Emma Price – Gray’s Inn

Ms Melissa Coutinho – Lincoln’s Inn

Mr Neil Mercer – Lincoln’s Inn

Ms Janet Bignell QC - Lincoln's Inn

Circuit Representatives

Mr Richard Archer – Northern Circuit

Mr Stuart McCracken – Northern Circuit

Mr Gordon Stables – North Eastern Circuit

Mr Christopher Tehrani QC - North Eastern Circuit

Mr Mark Trafford QC – Western Circuit

Ms Rachel Spearing – Western Circuit 

Ms Rachel Langdale QC – Midland Circuit

Ms Jennifer Josephs – Midland Circuit

Mr Justin McClintock – South Eastern Circuit

Mr Charles Burton - South Eastern Circuit

Mr Christopher Rees – Wales and Chester Circuit

Mr Rhodri Williams - Wales and Chester Circuit

Association Representatives

Mr Christopher Henley QC – Criminal Bar Association

Mr Greg Williams – Family Law Bar Association

Mr Joseph Curl – Chancery Bar Association

Mr Richard Brent – London Common Law & Commercial Bar Association

Situation Vacant – Intellectual Property Bar Association

Ms Marie Demetriou QC - Bar European Group

Ms Rebecca Murray – Revenue Bar Association

Ms Jessica Stephens – Technology & Construction Bar Association 

Ms Celina Colquhoun – Planning & Environment Bar Association

Ms Anita Davies – Constitutional and Administrative Law Bar Association

Mr Ivor Collett – Professional Negligence Bar Association

Ms Sonia Tolaney QC - Commercial Bar Association

Mr Christopher Kennedy QC – Personal Injuries Bar Association

Mr Sean Jones QC – Employment Law Bar Association

Mr Peter Petts – Property Bar Association

Ms Alexandria Carr – Bar Association for Commerce Finance & Industry

Mr Andrew Morgan – FDA - Crown Prosecution Service Section

Mr Martin Nelson - FDA - Government Legal Service

Dr Mirza Ahmad – Bar Association for Local Government and the Public Service

Queen’s Counsel (Self-employed)

Mr Robin Allen QC

Mr Michael Duggan QC

Mr Paul Mendelle QC

Mr Derek Sweeting QC

Mr Nick Vineall QC

Mr Nicholas Bacon QC

Junior Counsel over 7 years’ Call (Self-employed)

Mr Colin Andress

Ms Gemma de Cordova

Ms Sarah Crowther

Mr Tim Devlin

Mr Max Hardy

Mr John Paul Swoboda

Ms Shobana Iyer

Mr Richard G Jones

Mr James Keeley

Ms Eleanor Mawrey

Ms Leanne Targett-Parker

Ms Grace Ong

Ms Alison Padfield

Mr Thomas Payne

Mr Andrew Granville Stafford

Ms Eleena Misra

Mr Jonathan Goulding

Mr David Christopher Taylor

Mr Sydney Chawatama

Ms Jacqueline Wall

Mr Chris Bryden

Junior Counsel under 7 years’ Call (Self-employed)

Mr Tom Cockroft

Ms Katherine Duncan 

Mr Richard Gibbs

Mr Richard Hoyle

Mr Benjamin Seifert

Mr Rupert Jones

Mr Michael David Jones

Ms Anna Macey

Ms Athena Markides

Mr Duncan McCombe

Ms Francesca O’Neill

Mr Daniel Sternberg

Junior Counsel over 7 years’ Call (Employed)

Mr Steven Bramley CBE

Ms Shelley Brownlee                            

Mr Michael Jennings

Mr James Kitching

Mr Ryan Richter

Ms Lucinda Orr

Mr Richard Posner

Ms Angharad Price

Mr Grant Warnsby

Junior Counsel under 7 years’ Call (Employed)

Mr Samuel Main

Ms Katie Drummond

Ms Birgitte Hagem 

Ms India Burnett

Mr Ben Rowe

Ms Charlotte Pope-Williams

Co-opted Members

Ms Alexandra Healy QC

Ms Susan Jacklin QC

Ms Fiona Jackson

Bar Council meeting dates


Saturday 20 January - 10:00

Saturday 3 March - 10:00

Saturday 21 April - 10:00

Saturday 19 May - 10:00 

Saturday 7 July - 10:00

Saturday 15 September - 10:00 meeting - 11:00 (AGM) 

Saturday 3 November - 10:00

Monday 3 December - 17:30

(Chair’s inaugural Speech) 


Saturday 21 January - 10:00

Saturday 4 March - 10:00

Saturday 22 April - 10:00

Saturday 20 May : 10:00

Saturday 8 July 10:00

Saturday 16 September - 10:00 meeting - 11:00 (AGM)

Saturday 18 November - 10:00

Monday 11 December - 17:30

(Chair's Inaugural Speech)

AGM minutes

AGM: 17 September 2016
AGM 2016 Minutes 

AGM: 19 & 25 September 2015

AGM 2015 Minutes 
AGM 2015 Minutes (rearranged meeting)

AGM: 20 September 2014
AGM 2014 Minutes 

AGM: 21 September 2013

AGM 2013 Minutes 

AGM: 15 September 2012

AGM 2012 minutes
AGM 2012 agenda 

AGM: 18 June 2011
AGM 2011 minutes 
AGM 2011 agenda  

AGM: 12 June 2010
AGM 2010 minutes  
AGM 2010 agenda